Peter Hume going to bat for Jean Cloutier

Earlier this year, I thought Cloutier was definitely going to lose re-election. I still think he’s in trouble, but with at least three really strong challengers, there’s a chance he could slip through, with them splitting the opposing vote.

I don’t know if he’s particularly worried, but I was forwarded an email this afternoon from a reader (hi there!) from former Alta Vista councillor Peter Hume. It would seem Hume is throwing a fundraiser for Cloutier…and inviting a bunch of members of Ottawa’s developer community.

This would seem the exact sort of thing we wouldn’t want to see…especially from a councillor so unwilling to stand up to Timbercreek as they raze Heron Gate.

Here’s the email I received:

From: Peter Hume <redacted>

Date: September 19, 2018 at 10:26:15 AM EDT

To: <redacted>

Cc: Susan <redacted>

Subject: Campaign Fundraiser for Councillor Jean Cloutier

Hello Everyone,

Ted Phillips, Mike Casey and I have offered to host a campaign lunch for Councillor Cloutier. Would you kindly let me know if you can attend a lunch on September 26th at 12 noon? It will be held at Al’s Steakhouse on Elgin Street.

Personal cheques should be made out to “Elect Jean Cloutier”. If you cannot attend but would like to donate, please let me know and we can make other arrangements.

Thank you and look forward to seeing you there!

Regards,

Peter

(I would imagine he references Ted Phillips of Taggart Realty and Mike Casey of Arnon Property Management.)

I took out the email recipients for privacy sake, but it was cluttered with development and construction companies–Minto, Richcraft, Novatech, etc.

So, look, there’s nothing technically wrong with this, but, man, it really looks bad.

I’ve reached out to Peter Hume for comment.

Leave a comment