River Ward Malaise

The other day, a friend asked for my thoughts on the race in River Ward. Unfortunately, I have next to nothing to say about the race. I thought Mike Kostiuk presented some interesting ideas, but his platform is inconsistent, and he hasn’t had a good showing (or much at all) in the media. Mike Patton has the political chops, but he doesn’t offer many ideas. Also, he doesn’t live in the ward and there doesn’t seem to be much of a reason as to why he’s not running in College (other than the existence of an incumbent, perhaps).

Jeff Koscik’s platform is week, but I’ve heard a few interesting things coming from his campaign. He’s young and maybe a little inexperienced. That’s a double-edged sword, though. You don’t really know what you’re going to get. It’s a low floor, but also a high ceiling.

I’ve heard some people support Riley Brockington. I know Riley personally, but in a different context, so I don’t know what kind of councillor he’d make. I haven’t seen a platform yet, so I don’t really know what he wants to do if elected.

There are more, but it’s just a giant blur to me.

Matthew Pearson was at the candidate “job fair” the other day, and I think he crystalized what is going in in the race:

Yeah, I think that’s about it.

2 thoughts on “River Ward Malaise

  1. Jonathan, your spelling needs help. And I think you would do better to post less often, with more content.

    *Stephanie Robinson* *obinson@gmail.com * *613.720.7835*

  2. I find if I don’t write regularly, I won’t write much at all. Clearly, different posts have different amounts of effort put into them (and, I’ll admit, too little effort goes into editing).

    Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

