Walking Gladstone

So the tire on my bike was dead. Saturday morning, I popped into the local bike shop to get it replaced. It’s an easy fix, take off one tire, put on another. Unfortunately, my bike was more damaged than I realized (though I wondered), and I needed a whole new rear tire. Rather than getting a brand new one, I wondered over to Cycle Salvation to get one on the cheap.

Cycle Salvation (which shares a home with Recycles) is a wonderful little initiative. It’s also a bit far away at Bronson and Gladstone, nonetheless, I decided to walk.

On my way there, I walked up Bank Street to Gladstone Avenue and hung a left. I’ve walked along parts of Gladstone often, but I’ve never trekked all the way from Bank to Bronson. In fact, I’ve rarely walked the stretch west of Kent Street. I had absolutely no idea what was on the street.

That stretch of Gladstone has far more going on than I realized. Local shops and intriguing eateries litter the blocks on the north and south side. There is park space behind the McNabb Community Centre and an art gallery at the Kent Street corner.

Of course, this is no grand revelation for those who live in the area, but it serves as a reminder that there are a number of interesting little streets and neighbourhoods throughout Ottawa, and often they are in places we are quite familiar with, even if we never really noticed what they had to offer.

Leave a Reply

