Friday Night Lights

Looking at the RedBlacks’ schedule yesterday, I suddenly realized that the team only has one afternoon game all year, August 24. Even as we get into colder weather, it’s all night games. As I’ve noted, I haven’t really been a fan for a while, so I don’t know if this is just standard for the CFL these days, but it is quite a change from the Rough Riders days. Back then, autumn games tended to be a Saturday afternoon.

I can’t say that this is a better or worse approach, but it’s noteworthy. It might get pretty cold for the late season games which might deter fans. It can also make it difficult for young families. I hope to take my girls to a game or two, so I should probably snap up some tickets for the 24th while I can.

Leave a Reply

